Anderson Brothers Bank Invitational top five

From left, first place, Walker Jones of Wilson Hall; second place, Dock Jarman of Myrtle Beach; tied fourth place, Matthew Hutto of Blythewood; tied fourth place, Palmer Mason of Dutch Fork, and third place, Grainger Howle of Darlington and Byron Beck of Anderson Brothers Bank.

First round leaders Trinity Byrnes Collegiate held on for the win in the 19th Anderson Brothers Bank Invitational High School Golf Championship. Trinity Byrnes shot a final round 322 for a tournament total of 616. A hard charging Hartsville squad closed the 15 shot disadvantage they had coming into the final round and came up 5 shots short of Trinity Byrnes. Hartsville’s final round 312 tied the low team round for the day with Myrtle Beach. Myrtle Beach’s stellar second round play pushed them to a third place finish.

Walker Jones of Wilson Hall captured the individual medalist crown with a two day total of 9 under par 134. Jones followed up an opening round 63 with a one under round 71 at The Country Club of SC. Second place went to Dock Jarman of Myrtle beach followed by Granger Howe of Darlington.

The Invitational is used by most teams as a tune up for their run to the South Carolina State Championships.

The tournament was originally established as a 36-hole stroke play competition for High School Golf teams from the Pee Dee Area of South Carolina. Held every Spring since 2000 the tournament has been open to both public and private school golf teams.

The tournament through steady promotion developed into more than a regional event. Teams from all over the state of South Carolina now compete in the tournament. In 2004 the tournament was elevated in status with acceptance to the South Carolina Junior Golf Association’s official tournament list for individual state rankings.

During the past 19 years, the tournament has featured a number of top juniors from the state of South Carolina. Past individual champions include players who went on to be top collegiate players: Tripp McAlister (Coastal Carolina), Colby Hyduke (Newberry), Kellen Altman (College of Charleston), Christopher Couch (Francis Marion), Baker Elmore (USC), Paul Woodbury (USC), Steve Behr (Clemson) and Nicholas Beiers (Coker College).

Team Totals:

• 616 Trinity Byrnes

• 621 Hartsville

• 630 Myrtle Beach

• 633 Blythewood

• 643 AC Flora

• 644 N. Myrtle Beach

• 650 River Bluff

• 650 St. James

• 651 Wilson Hall

• 658 Airport

• 664 Greenwood

• 667 Dutch Fork

• 667 Darlington

• 668 Chapin

• 669 Gilbert

• 696 Carolina Forest

• 703 Aynor

• 744 Brookland Cayce

• 787 Marion


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.