surfside pier

The Surfside Beach Pier on Tuesday, April 30, 2019. Photo by Janet Morgan/

Bob Hellyer will be Surfside Beach’s next mayor, and Paul Holder, Cindy Keating and Michael Drake were elected to serve on the town council, according to unofficial election results.

Those runoff results had Hellyer, the town's planning commission chairman, garnering 566 votes — defeating former town councilwoman Julie Samples (495 votes) in the race for the mayoral position — in addition to Holder (704) town board of zoning appeals member Keating (636) and Drake (588) edging Kathryn Martin (577) in the race for three town council seats.

Incumbents Mayor Bob Childs and councilmen Randle Stevens, Mark Johnson and Ron Ott chose not to run for reelection.

Town councilman David Pellegrino also ran for mayor in the Nov. 5 general election, but was unsuccessful. Those who ran for town council spots also included Laurence McKeen, Jenn Cribb, Laverne Kreklau and planning commission member Cody Sluder.

Town council members are elected at-large, meaning they represent the entire town and not individual districts. They serve four-year terms.

This story will be updated.


(1) comment


What about the Conway City Council tace results?

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.