Loris High School Class of 1953 reunion

The Class of 1953 from Loris High School spent the evening together reminiscing about their great high school days.

Six decades after their graduation on May 26, 1953, the Loris High School Class of 1953 celebrated its 60th anniversary with a reunion Oct. 26 in Ryan’s Restaurant in North Myrtle Beach.

Following the registration and a time of getting reacquainted, the group had a photograph made.

Class president Talbert Gerald welcomed the class members and guests.

He also served as master of ceremonies.

The class had 92 members. Thirty class members and 25 guests were present. Thirty-six class members are deceased. Herman Spivey led the group in a tribute of Honor and Remembrance to these classmates. All names were read and a moment of silence was observed.

Harold Suggs, sang “We Have These Moments Today.” A memorial table, in honor of these members, was prepared by Bertie Stevens Gause.

Suggs also led the group in singing the Alma Mater and class song. He then sang “I wish I was Eighteen Again.”

After the invocation by Dr. Lawton Strickland, the group enjoyed a buffet dinner and fellowship.

Louise Pope Wood, class secretary, called the roll and as each class member’s name was called, the students introduced their guests and made a few comments.

Each class member was given a reunion notebook containing each classmate’s name, updated address, telephone number, e-mail, pictures from the 1953 year- book and pictures of prior reunions. These notebooks were prepared by Estell Carter Lee Harrelson.

A display of pictures and memorabilia, from their high school days, was pre- pared by Jane Goff Morris.

Talbert Gerald gave the class members a “Memory Pop Quiz” to test their memory of their high school days. Dr Lawton

Strickland and Patty Quinn Tuite were presented certificates proclaiming them to be the “Memory Champions” of the Loris High School Class of 1953.

A discussion was held concerning future reunions. It was decided to have a reunion in 2014, same date, same time and same location.

The planning committee members were Harold Suggs, chairman, Estell Carter Lee Harrelson, Jane Goff Morris, Herman Spivey, Eunice McDowell Stevens, Louise Pope Wood, Bertie Stevens Gause. Jack Blanton, Joyce Cox and Talbert Gerald.

Other classmates attending were Henry Will Boyd, Daphne Bullard Brooks, Blondell Coats, Willie Floyd, Irene Fowler Phipps, Ronald Gause, Carolyn Graham Coats, Elnite McDowell Parrott, Bertie Mishoe Suggs, Henry C. Powell, Patty Quinn Tuite, JoAnn Royals McDuffie, Betty Jane Springs Harrelson, Mary Emma Springs Seymour, Dr. Lawton Strickland, Audrey Todd Hughes, Mary Frances Todd Cox, J.C. Tyler, Ethell Tyler and Bruce Williams.


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.